Table of Contents

12 sections 17 min read

Two listings in this set name the Apple MacBook Neo: a new 13-inch model with an A18 Pro chip, 8GB of unified memory and a 512GB SSD, and a renewed one with 256GB of storage. If you are asking whether the Neo is a sensible low-cost Mac to put on a shortlist, the answer from the titles alone is that it can be, as long as 8GB of memory is enough for how you work. The titles tell you the chip, memory, storage and some features. They do not tell you battery life, weight, ports or how the machine behaves under load. Nobody on our team has handled these units, so this page reads the listings, points out where they disagree or go quiet, and gives you questions to ask.

We describe prices as tiers inside this set rather than quoting figures, since marketplace prices change often. The new Neo and the renewed Neo sit in the lower tiers, the MacBook Air with M5 sits higher, and the renewed older laptops are the cheapest options.

Our Top Picks

  1. Apple 2026 MacBook Neo 13-inch Laptop with A18512GB8.12 x 11.71 x 0.5 inches2.7 Pounds
    Check on Amazon
  2. Apple MacBook Neo 20268GB RAM / 256GB SSD0 x 0 x 0 inches4.7 pounds
    Check on Amazon
  3. Apple 2026 MacBook Air 13-inch Laptop with M58.46 x 0.44 x 11.97 Inches2.7 Pounds
    Check on Amazon
  4. SUPCASE for MacBook Neo Case 13 Inch 20261 x 1 x 1 inches0.8 Pounds
    Check on Amazon
  5. New Apple MacBook Pro256GB11.97 x 0.59 x 8.36 inches2.58 pounds
    Check on Amazon
  6. Late 2020 Apple MacBook Air with Apple M1128GB11.97 x 8.36 x 8.36 Inches2.8 Pounds
    Check on Amazon

MacBook Neo at a glance

Apple 2026 MacBook Neo 13-inch Laptop with A18 Pro chip: Built for AI and Apple Intelligence, Liquid Retina Display, 8GB Unified Memory, 512GB SSD Storage, 1080p FaceTime HD Camera, Touch ID; Indigo

Apple 2026 MacBook Neo 13-inch Laptop with A18 Pro chip: Built for AI and Apple Intelligence, Liquid Retina Display, 8GB Unified Memory, 512GB SSD Storage, 1080p FaceTime HD Camera, Touch ID; Indigo

Traditional Laptops
Apple
amazon.com
4.1 (0 reviews)
In Stock
$789.99
Updated: 21 hours ago
Price as of Oct 21, 2026. We earn from qualifying purchases.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.


Apple MacBook Neo 2026, A18 Pro Chip with 6CPU & 5GPU (13-inch, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD Storage) (QWERTY English) Indigo (Renewed)

Apple MacBook Neo 2026, A18 Pro Chip with 6CPU & 5GPU (13-inch, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD Storage) (QWERTY English) Indigo (Renewed)

8346234c-3736-4001-b2a5-9fd229148daa_8001
Apple
amazon.com
4.5 (0 reviews)
In Stock
$639.00
Updated: 21 hours ago
Price as of Oct 21, 2026. We earn from qualifying purchases.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.


-12%
Apple 2026 MacBook Air 13-inch Laptop with M5 chip: Built for AI, 13.6-inch Liquid Retina Display, 16GB Unified Memory, 512GB SSD, 12MP Center Stage Camera, Touch ID, Wi-Fi 7; Midnight

Apple 2026 MacBook Air 13-inch Laptop with M5 chip: Built for AI, 13.6-inch Liquid Retina Display, 16GB Unified Memory, 512GB SSD, 12MP Center Stage Camera, Touch ID, Wi-Fi 7; Midnight

Traditional Laptops
Apple
amazon.com
4.1 (0 reviews)
In Stock
$1,149.00 $1,299.00 Save $150.00
Updated: 21 hours ago
Price as of Oct 21, 2026. We earn from qualifying purchases.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.



SUPCASE for MacBook Neo Case 13 Inch 2026, Model A3404 A18 Pro Chip, Indigo | Military-Grade Protection, Anti-Scratch, Heavy Duty Rugged Hard Shell Protective Cover for MacBook Neo 13", Unicorn Beetle

SUPCASE for MacBook Neo Case 13 Inch 2026, Model A3404 A18 Pro Chip, Indigo | Military-Grade Protection, Anti-Scratch, Heavy Duty Rugged Hard Shell Protective Cover for MacBook Neo 13", Unicorn Beetle

Hard Shell Cases
SUPCASE
amazon.com
4.2 (0 reviews)
In Stock
$41.99
Updated: 21 hours ago
Price as of Oct 21, 2026. We earn from qualifying purchases.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.


New Apple MacBook Pro (13-inch, 8GB RAM, 256GB Storage) - Space Gray (Renewed)

New Apple MacBook Pro (13-inch, 8GB RAM, 256GB Storage) - Space Gray (Renewed)

Traditional Laptops
Apple
amazon.com
4.8 (0 reviews)
In Stock
$399.00
Updated: 21 hours ago
Price as of Oct 21, 2026. We earn from qualifying purchases.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.


Late 2020 Apple MacBook Air with Apple M1 Chip (13.3 inch, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD) Space Gray (Renewed)

Late 2020 Apple MacBook Air with Apple M1 Chip (13.3 inch, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD) Space Gray (Renewed)

Traditional Laptops
Apple
amazon.com
4.6 (0 reviews)
In Stock
$439.00
Updated: 21 hours ago
Price as of Oct 21, 2026. We earn from qualifying purchases.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.

Item What the new Neo listing says
Model Apple MacBook Neo, 13-inch laptop (the title adds the year 2026)
Chip A18 Pro, described as built for AI and Apple Intelligence
Display Liquid Retina, 13-inch class
Memory 8GB unified memory
Storage 512GB SSD
Camera 1080p FaceTime HD
Security Touch ID
Color Indigo
Price tier Budget to mid-range within this set

What the title is telling you

The listing title does most of its work in four items. The first is the chip. The A18 Pro is a different chip name from the M5 and M1 named in the Air listings, so do not assume the speeds line up; the titles give no performance figures to compare. The title gives no CPU or GPU core count for the new listing, though the renewed listing says 6 CPU and 5 GPU cores. Because the listings describe the same model, it is reasonable to expect the same chip configuration, but confirm that on the product page.

The second is memory: 8GB of unified memory. Unified memory is shared between the processor and the graphics, which Apple’s design uses efficiently, but it is soldered and cannot be upgraded later. The third is storage. The new listing says 512GB, and the renewed listing says 256GB, which is a meaningful difference for photos, apps and downloads. The fourth is the screen, described as Liquid Retina and 13 inches. That is the seller’s naming, and the title does not give brightness or resolution.

A few smaller items matter as well. A 1080p FaceTime HD camera is a good detail for video calls. Touch ID is convenient for logging in and for payments. The words “Built for AI and Apple Intelligence” are marketing copy: the title does not say which features work, and availability of such features can depend on language and region, so verify what you need.

Who the MacBook Neo suits

This listing fits people who want a light, simple Mac for everyday tasks. A student who writes papers, browses, watches lectures and joins video calls would be the obvious match. So would a household that needs a shared laptop for email, banking, homework and streaming. A first Mac for someone moving over from a phone or tablet is another good case, because the setup is simple and the Apple ecosystem handles photos and messages without extra steps.

It also suits a person who wants a travel laptop and does not mind compromising on power. Smaller 13-inch laptops are easier to carry, and the Neo appears aimed at buyers who value that over raw speed.

Who should skip it

Skip it if your work involves large photo libraries, long video timelines, code compilation, virtual machines or dozens of browser tabs and apps open at once. Eight gigabytes is the lowest memory tier in this set, and it is the thing you cannot fix later. The MacBook Air listing with 16GB is a better fit for that kind of use, and our guide to the best MacBook Air for photo editing covers what matters if images are your main task.

Also skip it if you need many ports or an external display setup, since the titles say nothing about the ports. And skip it if you plan to game seriously. The titles make no gaming claims at all, so do not assume this laptop is suited to demanding games.

What the titles do and do not tell you

The new Neo title gives the chip, memory, storage, display type, camera and Touch ID. These items are not stated and need checking on the product page:

  • Battery size and the runtime the manufacturer claims.
  • Ports, including how many are USB-C and whether they support an external display.
  • Weight and thickness.
  • Display brightness, color support and whether the finish is glossy.
  • Speaker and microphone details.
  • Included charger and cable.
  • Warranty length and whether AppleCare is available in your region.
  • Whether the 2026 label in the title refers to a model year or a release year.

Questions to ask before you buy

  1. Is this the new 512GB version, and does the order page confirm that?
  2. Is the seller authorized, and does the manufacturer warranty apply?
  3. For the renewed listing: what is the grade, what is the battery health, and what is the return window?
  4. Is the keyboard layout what I need? The renewed listing states QWERTY English.
  5. Do the ports cover my monitor, drive and phone needs?
  6. Will 8GB be enough for the way I work over the next three years?

Alternatives from the same listings

Four other laptops in the set are real alternatives. Two cases are covered after them as accessories, since they are not laptops.

Renewed Apple MacBook Neo with 256GB

This listing is the same model, marked Renewed, with an A18 Pro, 6 CPU and 5 GPU cores, 8GB of memory, 256GB of storage, a 13-inch screen, QWERTY English layout and the Indigo color. It is the cheapest way into the Neo in this set, with the trade-offs that come with a previously owned device.

The storage is half that of the first listing, which matters because storage cannot be changed after purchase. Condition grades vary across sellers and the title does not state one. Treat the “6 CPU and 5 GPU” wording as a hint that core counts may differ by version, and confirm that the new listing has the same configuration.

  • Pros: lower price tier than the new unit; same chip family and memory; the title states the core counts.
  • Cons: 256GB storage fills quickly; condition and battery health are not stated; warranty may be shorter than a new unit’s.

Check the listing for: the renewed grade, battery condition, included charger, and the guarantee period. Question to ask: what happens if the battery or screen has a fault in the first months?

Apple MacBook Air 13-inch with M5, 16GB and 512GB

The Air listing names an M5 chip, a 13.6-inch Liquid Retina display, 16GB of unified memory, a 512GB SSD, a 12MP Center Stage camera, Touch ID and Wi-Fi 7, in Midnight. Against the Neo, it doubles the memory and adds a larger, more advanced camera and a newer wireless standard.

It is the sensible choice for anyone who expects to keep the laptop for a long time or to run heavier apps. The trade-off is its higher price tier. Wi-Fi 7 only helps with a compatible router, so do not pay extra for it unless you have one.

  • Pros: 16GB memory gives headroom; 13.6-inch display is slightly larger; 12MP Center Stage camera is better for calls.
  • Cons: higher price tier; the title gives no battery or weight figures; still non-upgradable memory.

Check the listing for: ports, battery claim, weight and warranty. Question to ask: do I need 16GB, or would 8GB serve me well enough to save money?

Renewed Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch with 8GB and 256GB

This one is the vaguest listing in the set. The title says “New Apple MacBook Pro (13-inch, 8GB RAM, 256GB Storage) – Space Gray (Renewed)”, which contradicts itself: it cannot be both new and renewed. It names no chip and no year, so you cannot judge its age from the title alone.

If you consider it, contact the seller and ask for the exact model identifier, the processor and the battery cycle count. Without those details, you cannot compare it with the Neo fairly. The listing may suit a very tight budget, but the unknowns weigh against it.

  • Pros: likely among the lowest price tiers; 13-inch size is portable.
  • Cons: contradictory condition wording; no chip named; only 256GB of storage.

Check the listing for: exact model, release year, battery health and return terms. Question to ask: which year and chip is this?

Renewed MacBook Air with M1 chip, 8GB and 128GB

The title says “Late 2020 Apple MacBook Air with Apple M1 Chip (13.3 inch, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD) Space Gray (Renewed)”. This is the oldest design in the set. It has the same 8GB of memory as the Neo, but only 128GB of storage, which is tight for current use once the system and apps take their share.

It may still serve for basic web use, documents and streaming, and its age is stated plainly, which helps. The caution is the aged battery that comes with a laptop of this vintage, plus the limited storage and uncertain software support in later years. Check what version of macOS it can run.

  • Pros: age and chip are clearly stated; low price tier; 13.3-inch size is easy to carry.
  • Cons: 128GB storage is very limited; battery wear is likely after years of use; may lose software support sooner than the newer listings.

Check the listing for: battery cycle count, the renewed grade, return window and the newest macOS version supported. Question to ask: can I live with 128GB?

The two case listings

These are accessories, not laptops, and they are included only because the keyword relates to the Neo. Both state they are written for the MacBook Neo 13-inch, model A3404. Match that number against the one printed on your own laptop, usually found on its underside.

MOSISO case kit for MacBook Neo

This is described as a 4-in-1 kit with an ultra-thin, exact-fit, matte hard shell that resists scratches and fingerprints, in a clear Indigo finish. The title does not list what the other three items are, so check the contents before buying. A thin shell adds little bulk, but hard shells can scratch the laptop if grit gets in, so clean both surfaces from time to time.

  • Pros: slim; kit may include extras; exact-fit claim.
  • Cons: kit contents not stated in the title; hard shells can trap heat and dust.

SUPCASE Unicorn Beetle case for MacBook Neo

This listing says military-grade protection, anti-scratch and heavy-duty rugged hard shell for the 13-inch Neo, model A3404, in Indigo. “Military-grade” is a marketing phrase and the title does not say which standard or test applies. A rugged case adds bulk and weight, which suits a student’s backpack more than a slim travel kit.

  • Pros: aimed at heavier protection; rugged build for daily carrying.
  • Cons: adds bulk; protection claims are not specified; may fit tightly.

Buying checklist

Spec concept What to look for Why it matters
Memory 8GB versus 16GB, and whether it is upgradable Soldered memory cannot be changed later
Storage 256GB or 512GB Controls how many apps, photos and files fit
Condition New, renewed grade, battery health A renewed battery may have less life left
Warranty Length, provider and return window Your protection if there is a fault
Ports and display Number of ports and external display support Decides whether your desk setup works
Keyboard layout QWERTY English or another layout Affects daily comfort and resale
Accessories Case model number matches your laptop A wrong-size case is wasted money

Worked example: is 8GB enough for a student?

These figures are our own planning assumptions, not measurements. Suppose a student keeps 20 browser tabs open at about 200MB each, which is 4GB. Add a word processor at around 1GB, a video call at about 1.5GB and the operating system at roughly 2GB. That totals about 8.5GB, slightly above the 8GB available.

Modern operating systems cope by compressing memory and using the SSD for overflow, so the laptop will not stop working, but it may slow down when you switch between heavy tabs. If the student closes half the tabs, the total falls to roughly 6.5GB and things should feel smoother. The conclusion: 8GB suits a disciplined user, and 16GB gives room for a messy one. Storage is a separate budget: with 256GB, a system and apps taking around 80GB leave about 170GB for files, and photos or downloaded videos can use that up in a year. The 512GB listing gives a much larger buffer.

Verdict

The new MacBook Neo listing is a credible, simple, low-cost Mac on paper, with the 512GB storage the main reason to prefer it over the renewed 256GB version. Its main limit is 8GB of unified memory, which you cannot upgrade. If your tasks are light, it is a reasonable choice. If you do more demanding work or keep laptops for many years, the MacBook Air with 16GB deserves the extra tier. Treat the renewed and older listings as budget options with clear caveats: ask about battery health, grade and returns, and clarify the contradictory MacBook Pro title. Buy a case only after checking the model number.

Frequently asked questions

Is 8GB of memory enough on the MacBook Neo?

Both Neo listings state 8GB of unified memory. For browsing, documents, streaming and light photo work, that is workable for many people, and Apple’s design shares memory efficiently. It becomes tight with many browser tabs, large photo libraries or video editing, and unified memory cannot be upgraded later. If you keep a laptop for years or run heavier apps, the 16GB MacBook Air in this set is a more comfortable choice.

What is the difference between the new and renewed MacBook Neo listings?

The first listing is new with 512GB of storage and Touch ID mentioned. The second is marked Renewed, has 256GB, and states a 6-core CPU and 5-core GPU with a QWERTY English keyboard. Renewed units are previously owned and restored, so condition, battery health and warranty vary by seller. Compare the return period, the guarantee terms and what accessories are included before choosing the lower price tier.

Will a MacBook Neo case from the listings fit?

Both case listings name the MacBook Neo, 13-inch and model A3404, so they are written for the same model as the first listing. Check the model number printed on your laptop against the case listing before ordering, since sizes differ between generations. Hard-shell cases can trap heat and leave marks if grit gets inside, so clean the laptop and the case occasionally and take the case off if the laptop runs warm.

Is the MacBook Air with M5 worth the extra tier over the Neo?

On paper, the Air listing offers 16GB of memory, 512GB of storage, a 13.6-inch display, a 12MP Center Stage camera and Wi-Fi 7, so it is a clear step up on memory and camera. Whether that is worth the higher price tier depends on how long you keep the laptop and how demanding your apps are. For heavy multitasking or editing, the extra memory alone often justifies it.

Should I consider the renewed MacBook Pro or the renewed MacBook Air M1?

They are older designs sold renewed, with 8GB of memory and either 256GB or 128GB of storage. They can suit very light use on a tight budget, but a battery that has aged, a short warranty and limited storage are real risks. The Pro listing does not name a chip, and its title says both “New” and “Renewed”, so ask the seller to clarify before buying.

Is a renewed laptop a safe purchase?

It can be, if the seller is reputable and the terms are clear. Look for a stated condition grade, a warranty and a generous return window. Ask about battery health, since batteries wear with use and are the part most likely to disappoint. Keep the packaging and test the screen, keyboard, ports, camera and speakers during the return period. If a listing is vague about condition, treat that as a reason to look elsewhere.

Related guides

Browse all Budget Laptops guides →